About

AmblyoCare is a software system developed in the frame of the SEE-KID / CEVD project in cooperation with the hospital “Barmherzige Brüder” Linz.

The main goal of AmblyoCare is to provide an environment for ophthalmologists which allows an effective and objective early diagnosis and therapy of high grade amblyopia especially for infants. Although training the remaining vision is most effective at a young age by regular therapy, the target group of AmblyoCare not only includes infants and children, but also high grade visually affected adult patients.

There is already a wide range of tools being used in amblyopia therapy. AmblyoCare covers many of the traditional methods in one single software system to make therapy sessions more efficient and practical. It offers ophthalmic professionals a variety of individually customizable stimulation methods, which provide a wide range of possibilities for the diagnosis and therapy. With predefined workflows, so called examination blocks, it is possible to structure and optimize the therapy based on the diagnosis. As the patient’s impairment improves, the therapy needs to be adapted gradually.

For this purpose, AmblyoCare allows the intuitive and exact adjustment of all parameters. The flexibility is also needed in early visual assessment, where therapy tends to be more difficult as the attention span of children is lower and emotional components play a larger role (e.g. using pictures of family members in a stimulation can achieve a significantly better therapeutic response). To make longer and more productive therapy sessions possible, we have also integrated interactive games (e.g. memory game) which can be combined with conventional stimulation methods in the background (e.g. moving bars).

Multiplatform

AmblyoCare is a highly versatile tool with a calibrated, standardized presentation of various visual stimuli for the diagnosis and therapy of amblyopia. It is available for several platforms (Windows, Android, iOS) and the possibility to use it on two separate devices offers high mobility (one device for the parameterization as well as the monitoring of the patient with a camera and one device for the presentation of the stimuli). AmblyoCare documents all sessions automatically and provides quick assessment possibilities, which increases the reproducibility and therefore the significance of the therapy.

Medical Product

AmblyoCare was developed as medical product of class 1 and is intended for temporarily use on patients. The use of AmblyoCare without medical support or it’s use against medical advice is prohibited. AmblyoCare gained a CE-mark for a certain time, which verifies conformity with the requirements of the European directive for medical products 93/42/EWG and the Austrian law for medical products BGBl. 657/1996 i.d.g.F.

The system structure of AmblyoCare allows three different scenarios:

  • the investigator can run the examinations and control them on one device with one monitor,
  • on one device with two monitors or
  • on two devices with two monitors.

i … investigator
p … patient

In the former two cases the investigator uses one device or monitor for controlling the examinations remotely while the patient sees the stimuli on another device or monitor. These three scenarios guarantee a high flexibility for using the software according to the needs and possibilities of doctors and patients.

Currently, the following methods for diagnosis and therapy of high grade amblyopia are included in AmblyoCare:

Visual Attention

Moving Stripes (Optokinetic Nystagmus)

Rotating Disc (Eccentric Fixation)

Visus Testing (Snellen-Testing, Landolt-Test)

Smooth Pursuit Movement

Saccades Movement

Contour Detection

Preferential Looking

Further possibilities include:

user interaction (e.g. clicking on objects to make them disappear or change their position)
games (e.g. Memory Game)
audio feedback
import an use of photos and sounds
overlay of a webcam picture to analyze the patient’s reaction
import of user sounds

Contact

FIND US HERE:
RISC Software GmbH
Softwarepark Hagenberg
Softwarepark 35
A-4232 Hagenberg
Austria, Europe

CONTACT US:
Phone: +43 7236 3343 670
Fax: +43 7236 3343 680
Mail: info@see-kid.at

About

AmblyoCare ist ein Softwaresystem, das im Rahmen des Projekts SEE-KID/CEVD in Kooperation mit dem Konventhospital der Barmherzigen Brüder Linz entwickelt wird.

Das Ziel von AmblyoCare ist es eine Umgebung für Ophthalmologen bereitzustellen, die eine effektive und objektive Früherkennung und Therapie von hochgradiger Amblyopie, speziell für Kleinkinder, ermöglicht. Obwohl das Trainieren des Restsehvermögens mit regulärer Therapie in jungem Alter am effektivsten ist, ist AmblyoCare nicht nur für Kinder ausgerichtet, sondern auch für hochgradig visuell eingeschränkte erwachsene Patienten.

In der Amblyopietherapie wird bereits eine große Auswahl an Werkzeugen verwendet. AmblyoCare deckt viele dieser traditionellen Methoden in einem einzelnen Softwaresystem ab, um die Therapiesitzungen effizienter und praktischer zu machen. Es stellt Ophthalmologen eine Vielfalt an individuell anpassbaren Stimulationsmethoden zur Verfügung, die ein breites Spektrum an Möglichkeiten für Diagnose und Therapie bieten. Mit vordefinierten Abläufen, sogenannten Untersuchungsblöcken, ist es möglich die Therapie basierend auf der Diagnose zu strukturieren und zu optimieren. Während sich die Sehbeeinträchtigung des Patienten verbessert, muss die Therapie schrittweise angepasst werden.

Für diesen Zweck ermöglicht AmblyoCare die intuitive und exakte Anpassung aller Parameter. Diese Flexibilität ist auch in der Früherkennung notwendig, wo die Therapie in der Regel viel schwieriger ist, da die Aufmerksamkeitsspanne von Kindern deutlich geringer ist und emotionale Faktoren eine größere Rolle spielen (z.B. das Verwenden von Fotos von Familienmitgliedern in einer Stimulation kann dazu führen, dass die Patienten deutlich besser auf die Therapie ansprechen). Um längere und produktivere Therapiesitzungen zu ermöglichen, haben wir außerdem interaktive Spiele (wie z.B. das Memoryspiel) eingebaut, die mit konventionellen Stimulationsmethoden im Hintergrund kombiniert werden können (z.B. Streifenmuster).

Multiplattform

AmblyoCare ist für diverse Plattformen erhältlich (Windows, Android, iOS) und die Möglichkeit es auf zwei separaten Geräten zu verwenden (ein Gerät für die Parametrierung sowie Beobachtung des Patienten, und eines für die Darstellung) ermöglicht eine hohe Mobilität in der Verwendung. AmblyoCare dokumentiert automatisch alle durchgeführten Therapien und bietet schnelle Bewertungsmöglichkeiten, was die Reproduzierbarkeit und somit die Signifikanz der Therapie steigert.

Medizinprodukt

AmblyoCare wurde als Medizinprodukt der Klasse I entwickelt und ist zur vorübergehenden Anwendung am Patienten bestimmt. Eine Anwendung von AmblyoCare ohne ärztliche Betreuung oder eine nicht dem ärztlichen Rat entsprechende Anwendung ist untersagt. AmblyoCare erhielt vorübergehend eine CE-Kennzeichnung, welche die Konformität mit den Anforderungen der europäischen Richtlinie für Medizinprodukte 93/42/EWG und des österreichischen Medizinproduktegesetzes BGBl. 657/1996 i.d.g.F. bestätigt.

Die Systemarchitektur von AmblyoCare bietet drei Verwendungsszenarien, der Untersucher…

  • kann Untersuchungen auf einem Gerät mit einem Monitor durchführen.
  • kann Untersuchungen auf einem Gerät mit zwei Monitoren durchführen.
  • kann Untersuchungen auf zwei Geräten mit zwei Monitoren durchführen.

i … investigator
p … patient

In den letzten beiden Fällen verwendet der Untersucher ein Gerät bzw. einen Monitor um die Untersuchungen zu steuern, während dem Patienten die Stimuli auf dem anderen Gerät bzw. Monitor präsentiert werden. Diese drei Verwendungsszenarien garantieren höchste Flexibilität, um die Software entsprechend der Bedürfnisse von Untersucher und Patient verwenden zu können.

Inkludierte Methoden für die Diagnose und Therapie von hochgradiger Amblyopie

Visuelle Aufmerksamkeit

Streifenmuster (Optokinetischer Nystagmus)

Drehscheibe (Exzentrische Fixation)

Visusprüfung mit Optotypen (Snellen-Test, Landolt-Test, etc.)

Folgebewegungen

Blicksprünge (Sakkaden)

Zoomen (Vergrößern/Verkleinern von Objekten

Preferential Looking

Weitere Möglichkeiten sind u.a.:

Benutzerinteraktion (z.B. Klicken auf Objekte, um sie zu bewegen oder verschwinden zu lassen
Spiele (z.B. Memoryspiel)
Audiofeedback mit vordefinierter Auswahl an Geräuschen aus verschiedenen Kategorien
Importieren und Verwenden von eigenen Fotos und Audio-Dateien
Möglichkeit zur Anbindung einer Kamera, um Patienten während des Ablaufs einer Untersuchung besser beobachten zu können
Einfügen beliebig vieler frei skalierbarer Objekte (Smileys, Formen, Bilder, etc.) bei allen Untersuchungen

Kontakt

SIE FINDEN UNS HIER:
RISC Software GmbH
Softwarepark Hagenberg
Softwarepark 35
A-4232 Hagenberg
Austria, Europe

KONTAKTIEREN SIE UNS:
Telefon: +43 7236 3343 670
Fax: +43 7236 3343 680
E-Mail: info@see-kid.at